The first limb of the eight limbs of yoga, Yama, is made up of five restraints – five ways to prevent harm to other beings: ahimsa (non-harming), satya (truthfulness), asteya (non-stealing), brahmacharya(moderation), and aparigraha (non-grasping). In the Yama-s lie the keys to being in community – with unity – with other beings. I am thinking, as July 4th nears, of another […]

Learn More